King Fool

KFEvent4

Created and performed by Ava Roy and John Hadden
Adapted by John Hadden from Shakespeare’s King Lear
Creative Team: Lauren D. Chavez, John Hadden, Jamie Lyons, Ava Roy

We Players is embarking on a multi-year development of a new piece called King Fool, with a focus on themes of death and dying, loss, grief, and healing. Each performance will be immediately followed by a facilitated conversation with performers, site hosts and audience members. These conversations will inform future iterations of King Fool, as the King and his fool continue to wander through time and space, telling old stories, playing all the parts, reliving their miseries and finding humor in the face of grief and loss.

 

 “One of the Bay Area’s most interesting
theatrical organizations hits another home run.
”  TheatreStorm

 

PERFORMANCE TIMES & LOCATIONS

Performances King Fool 2014 will take place in multiple locations:

Battery Wallace in the Marin Headlands; a private residence in San Anselmo; and at various other Undisclosed Locations.

Friday, September 5: The Episcopal Church of Saint John The Evangelist, San Francisco; 6pm

Saturday, September 6: Private residence, in San Anselmo; 4-7pm

Sunday, September 7: Private residence, in San Anselmo; 4-7pm (SOLD OUT!)

Friday, September 12: Undisclosed Location: Location TBA; 6pm

Saturday, September 13: Battery Wallace, in the Marin Headlands; 2-5pm

Sunday, September 14: Battery Wallace, in the Marin Headlands; 2-5pm

Friday, September 19: Undisclosed Location: South Mission District, San Francisco; 6pm

Saturday, September 20: Private residence, in San Anselmo; 4-7pm (SOLD OUT!)

Sunday, September 21: Private residence, in San Anselmo; 4-7pm (SOLD OUT!)

Friday, September 26: Undisclosed Location: Mission Bay, San Francisco; 8-11pm

Saturday, September 27: Battery Wallace, in the Marin Headlands; 2-5pm (SOLD OUT!)

Sunday, September 28: Battery Wallace, in the Marin Headlands; 2-5pm (SOLD OUT!)

*Performances at Battery Wallace are presented in partnership with the National Park Service, and the project site is universally accessible. If you have mobility disabilities, please purchase tickets for a King Fool performance at Battery Wallace.*